Skip directly to content

Roland [LWV 65] - Suite

The Suite includes 18 instrumental pieces, including the previously published Chaconne, and 8 choir pieces, selected from the tragédie Roland. The sources are the first edition of 1685 (see frontispiece on the cover), and, for the numbers of the figured bass, the second edition of 1716, except for choirs, based on the first edition figures. Both editions, available at Gallica, BNF, Paris, are by J-B-C. Ballard.
Sample — 249x
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Release notes: 
Version 2.3

News & Comments

Publication of version 2.3 correcting accodental omissions in pieces no. 14 and 17 (ms. defects).

Publication of version 2.2 of the Suite, which includes six new choral pieces (November 24, 2014).

The version 1.0 was published on August 5, 2014. The version 2.0, including the choir “C’est Medor”, was published on September 9, 2014. The version 2.1, including the final choir was published on October 31, 2014.

Publication of version 2.0 (score and separate parts), which includes the Chœur "C'est Medor", following the Chaconne.