Skip directly to content


Welcome to, a digital collection of modern editions of music from the 17:th and 18:th century, dedicated to amateur and professional musicians. The scores are transcribed from original printed or manuscript sources, using LilyPond, an open source project, to generate urtext editions. Selection of authors and music favours unedited music and less known authors. 


All editions are available under the CC License 4.0 International, BY NC ND.


A collaboration program with IMSLP has been started, where many scores have been uploaded from over time. The purpose of the program is to give mutual respect and visibility to the commitment of the parties in spreading non-copyright-protected music items.


To all subscribers: midi files are now available for download. 



Dear visitors,


after eighteen years of transcription effort, the site collects today (January 9, 2024), 1220 scores with separate parts and midi files, and about 45.000 pages of baroque music. About 100 scores per year are new transcriptions.


Facing the problem of funding the activities of the site we have been obliged to put in place a simple six-month or 1-year subscription system, with the aim of collecting resources capable of supporting operations, hosting, maintenance and development of the site. Subscribers have access to all scores and separate parts for the duration of subscription. To all subscribers we guarantee a strong effort to improve the selection of rare and unpublished music, the formal quality of editing and the frequency of new issues. Furthermore, we are at your disposal to support specific transposition requests, respecting the requirements of the site (i. e. public domain sources, CC licenses rules, rare or unedited music).

      Mario Bolognani editor  


Since August 2018, Paolo Cantamessa is cooperating with the editor in the effort of editing new transcriptions. He is graduated in modern violin at Conservatorio “Giuseppe Verdi”, Torino, where he also studied composition. He received a degree in Baroque violin from Scuola Civica di Milano, studying with E. Gatti and attended courses held by Sigiswald Kuijken at Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussels. He teaches Baroque violin at the Academy of Music School of Fiesole and plays regularly with I Turchini (A. Florio), Les Talens Lyriques (C. Rousset), Accademia Montis Regalis (A. de Marchi), Modo Antiquo (F.M. Sardelli), Ensemble Aurora (E. Gatti), Divino Sospiro and Accademia Bizantina (O. Dantone). He plays a Sebastian Klotz violin made in 1742.




Roma, January 9, 2024   



Contributing to the archive

While the edited scores have been frequently reviewed after private and public performances, nonetheless the editor declines any responsibility regarding the accuracy of the published material. Ancient sources frequently include ambiguities and typos and it is not always easy finding an unquestionable interpretation. In addition, there may be transcription mistakes, even if the editor writes LilyPond code with scrupulous patience. The editor is grateful to those who will improve the collection notifying mistakes and erroneous interpretation for future revised editions. Appreciation or critical messages are also encouraged. The editor will publish scores and midi files submitted by the community under the condition that the musical sources are in the public domain and that the score is an urtext transcription with no rights reserved.