Skip directly to content

Concerto in Do minore per Flauto traverso, con 2 Violini, Viola, e Basso [QV 5:38]

Source is a manuscript of separate parts, Berlin, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Musikabteilung (D-B), KHM 4191, RISM ID no.: 1001051654. Cover title is: “pour Potsdam | No: 300 | [music incipit] | Concerto, à 5, | Flauto Traverso, | Due Violini, | Violetta | e | Basso. | di Quantz.”. RISM reports that, according to ThouretK 1895 (which refers to "Nicolai: Anekdoten III"), Quantz had only completed the first two movements when he died. The third movement is said to have been "designed" by Friedrich II and "executed" by Agricola. There is no evidence of this from the full source.
Sample page — 223x
Saturday, March 21, 2020
Release notes: 
Version 1.0